You Can’t Recycle Wasted Time

One thing you will learn extremely fast when you start college is how to manage your time. You WANT to read this post all the way through. If I knew about some of this stuff before now or even prior to college, my GPA would have benefited a few points. BUT it is never too late to make positive changes. My schedule is busier than ever, but I have stuck pretty close to my schedule. Here are a few things I have done to keep up with my classes and rehearsals for the Concert Band, Jazz Band, and Tri-State Community Chorus.

No matter how full or how empty I think my schedule is, the first thing I do is write out my schedule so I can physically see it. Not just my class schedule, but all the rehearsals I have, work schedule(s), and other groups that I belong to on/off campus. Laying all of this out in front of me allows me to see where my free time is.

In order to have a handle on my schedule, I need to follow it. Missing classes, rehearsals, etc. will throw off the balance. Once I build the routine of my schedule, it doesn’t seem awful at all. It is just the first few weeks of adjustment that seem unbearable, and I used to allow that mentality to continue into the rest of the semester.

The next thing I do is mentally prepare myself for the semester. Once I see a class I’m not comfortable with or excited about, I try and be as optimistic as I can. There is a reason certain classes are required for every student to take. Believe it or not you WILL apply a lot of the concepts to other aspects of your life during your time here.  Lateral Learning is one of my favorite teaching mechanisms. It takes what I learned already and applies it to other things I am going to learn.

Many things we do can be done so much differently if we change our perception. If we go into a class already thinking it is going to be boring and torturing, then of course that is the outcome we receive. Think of it this way: the classes you are in you have to take, and believe it or not they are relevant to the degree we intend on pursuing. So instead of having a negative mindset for a solid four years and complaining about everything little thing, you can switch it and find the positives in your experience. Four years is a long time to be negative when there are so many opportunities here you may miss out on.

Balancing my time with work and play has been a struggle. Mostly because I wanted to sleep during all the time I should have been studying. I am slowly grasping the concept that sleeping 10 hours straight does not help me much. What does help me is sleeping 6 or 7 hours and taking a short nap. This may seem like an obvious thing, but believe me, when you are wondering where all your time has gone that’s a good place to start.

A common downfall of students (including me) is procrastination. The first time I decide to put something off, the easier and easier it is for me to keep procrastinating. Then I wonder why I am stressed to the max after midterms! Nearly every professor will give you the deadlines to major assignments at the beginning of each semester. There are those students who have already ascended procrastination, but to the most of us who haven’t, those deadlines look so far away on the first week of classes. It is not until after midterms when you actually think back and realize you have papers that are going to be due soon. Some professors attempt to counteract this by setting deadlines for paper topics, outlines, and rough drafts. These professors are saints, and will all have a special place in Heaven because of it.  Once you learn how to not procrastinate, call me because I still have yet to figure it out!

I don’t know about your parents, but when I got home from school my parents always made me do my homework before I could go outside or watch TV. Once I started driving and working in high school, that was no longer enforced, but that same concept is applicable to college. I have more time to hang out with my friends, or to sleep in if I get my homework done first. Of course this isn’t always possible depending on your schedule.

Sometimes I do have to tell my friends I can’t play volleyball, or go to Knoxville with them. Don’t think you have to say ‘yes’ to everything. If you realize you have work to do then be responsible enough to tell them no. They will still be your friends after they’re done harassing you about doing homework!

The best piece of advice I can give is to have fun. Make what you do fun and interesting. If you have been studying all day long, get out and do something. Clear your head. Do not burn your self out on your work! Block out time each day for homework. That way you’re not spending the weekends and days off doing nothing but homework!

Becoming an adult is rough! We have to learn to wake ourselves up, take care of ourselves, and make ourselves do homework or go to practice. We no longer have mom and dad telling us to get ready for practice or asking if our homework is done. This is all part of becoming responsible adults.

Thank you to everyone who has been reading! I do this to help promote this great educational institution, and love being a part of the growth. Please subscribe to this blog and my fellow bloggers that are on the LMU Bloggers web page. Be sure to comment with your procrastination stories or ways to be more productive!

Posted on October 28, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good read.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

